Skip to main content

Wards, polling districts and polling stations

Polling district, polling place and polling station review 2023

The Council’s wards are divided into Polling Districts, each of which has a Polling Station where electors go to vote. The schedule of polling stations is kept under review and alternative arrangements made where any polling stations are unavailable at the time of election.

The recent review of the ward structure in the Brentwood Borough by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) has made changes that will affect where some people go to vote. Therefore, a review of the polling districts and polling places will be necessary before the new ward pattern comes into effect in May 2024.

We have started a consultation on how each of the new wards will be divided into polling districts and polling places, including identifying suitable premises to be used as polling stations. We welcome any person or body with expertise in access for persons with any type of disability to comment on the proposals, or the recommendations of the Acting Returning Officer.

Review process and proposal documents

Find out about the review process in the published Notice of Review of Polling Districts, Polling Places and Polling Stations (PDF).

You can also view the proposal documents Introduction to Polling District Proposal Document (PDF) and Proposed schedule of polling districts, polling places and polling stations (PDF).

Ward maps

The consultation closes on 23 October 2023.

Comments and representations should be sent by email to or post to:

Electoral Services
Brentwood Borough Council
Town Hall
Ingrave Road
CM15 8AY

The Acting Returning Officer (ARO) is responsible for running UK Parliamentary elections in the Brentwood and Ongar Constituency. As part of this process, he has to allocate polling stations within the Borough and is consulted when polling districts and polling places are reviewed.

Consultation on the Council’s ward structure and the number of Borough Councillors

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) has carried out a review of the ward structure in the Brentwood Borough. A change to the ward pattern was proposed, with three councillors for each ward.

The LGBCE published its final recommendations on the new electoral arrangements for Brentwood in March 2023. It recommended a new 13-ward structure for the Borough and that the number of councillors should be increased from 37 to 39.

The Order has now been approved by Parliament and the new ward pattern is scheduled to take effect with all-out elections in May 2024.

The names of the new wards will be:

  • Blackmore and Doddinghurst
  • Brentwood North
  • Brentwood South
  • Brentwood West
  • Brizes, Stondon Massey and South Weald
  • Herongate, Ingatestone & West Horndon
  • Hutton East
  • Hutton North
  • Hutton South
  • Ingatestone, Fryerning and Mountnessing
  • Pilgrims Hatch
  • Shenfield
  • Warley

Consultation on Essex County Council’s electoral division structure

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) has begun a review of the electoral division boundaries for Essex County Council. Draft proposals are expected to be published in November 2023, followed by a 10-week consultation period. For more information, visit LGBCE.

Review of UK Parliamentary Constituencies

The Boundary Commission for England has been carrying out a review of the Parliamentary Constituencies.

Their final recommendations have been submitted to Parliament and the Government will draft an Order with the recommendations of all four Parliamentary Boundary Commissions. Once the draft Order is approved by the Privy Council, the new constituencies will be used for the next General election following that date.

You can view the proposals and general information about the 2023 Boundary Review.

Polling stations

To find your polling station and ward with interactive maps of their location, view our Polling Station and Ward Lookup and Polling Station and Ward Lookup Help.