Skip to main content

Election results from previous years

Borough elections

Brentwood Borough Council has 37 seats covering 15 wards. Councillors sit for four years and elections are by 'thirds' meaning a third of the seats are contested each time. As some wards have only one or two councillors, not every ward is contested each time there are local elections.

There were no elections held during 2020 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

WarningDatashare is currently unavailable. If you require election information published prior to February 2021, please contact We apologise for any inconvenience.

Election results from 2012 - 2019 can be viewed and are available to download from the Council's information database, DataShare. Please follow the link provided below and select the category Democracy and the dataset Brentwood Borough Council Election Results.

County Council elections

Elections to Essex County Council are held every four years. There are four 'divisions' in the Brentwood area, each of which has one councillor.

Details of election results from previous years can be found here:

Parliamentary elections

At the General Election held on 12th December 2019, Alex Burghart was returned as the Member of Parliament for the Brentwood and Ongar Constituency.

European Parliamentary elections

The UK has now left the European Union. Previously, the Brentwood Local Counting area was part of the East of England Region and the election was co-ordinated by the Regional Returning Officer.

European Parliamentary results

Parish Council elections

Parish Council elections are scheduled on a rotational basis over a four-year cycle. Elections are only held if the number of candidates nominated exceeds the number of seats on the Parish Council. Find out more on our dedicated Parish Council Elections page.

Election results from previous years and details of uncontested elections can be viewed here:

Police and Crime Commissioner elections

Elections to appoint the Police and Crime Commissioner for the Essex Police Area are held every four years. The election due to be held in 2020 has been postponed due to the coronavirus outbreak. Find the results of the 2012 and 2016 elections: