About local elections

For electoral purposes the Borough of Brentwood is divided into 15 wards, which are further sub-divided into 41 polling districts.

Electors who are eligible to vote at a particular election or referendum will receive a polling card shortly before polling day, telling them where to vote. There are special arrangements for people who cannot get to a polling station to apply for a proxy or postal vote. Further details can be found in the section on postal and proxy voting.

Elections take place each year for local councillors, either at Borough Council or County Council level. Elections were due to be held in May 2020 in 12 of the Council's 15 wards but were postponed due to the coronavirus outbreak. They took place on 6th May 2021, alongside elections for the four County Council seats. There were no Borough Council elections scheduled for Herongate, Ingrave & West Horndon ward, Hutton East ward and South Weald ward.

Electors may also live in an area that has a Parish Council for which elections take place every four years. Find out more on the parish elections page.


Brentwood Borough comprises 15 local wards. Eight of the wards have three elected councillors, whilst the six less populated wards are represented by two councillors, and the least populated ward is represented by just one councillor. Councillors are usually elected for a four year term of office.

Your local Councillor or demographic data for each Ward can be found by entering a postcode or address in the My Property facility.

To search for a local Councillor by Ward please use the link below:

Find my Councillor

Ward Map


2021 borough council elections

Elections were held in the following wards on 6th May 2021:

  • Brentwood North
  • Brentwood South
  • Brentwood West
  • Brizes & Doddinghurst
  • Hutton Central
  • Hutton North
  • Hutton South
  • Ingatestone, Fryerning & Mountnessing
  • Pilgrims Hatch
  • Shenfield
  • Tipps Cross
  • Warley